My Favorite Reads 2011 Edition


Welcome to my Best Reads of 2011 list, just in time for filling up your eReader of choice after the holidays. Because my reading tastes are broad, I’m picking one book for each genre I’ve read this year. I’ll link to the book on Goodreads and give a quick reason you need to pick it up.


Burden KansasBurden Kansas by Alan Ryker

It’s bloody and exciting, a definite must read if you’re into the horror vampire scene. The main character is a cowboy vampire hunter, that’s all I’ve got to say. The sequel to this thrilling read, Blood Tells True, just came out, so you could pick up both on the same day!

Urban Fantasy

This is a hard category for me to pick, because most of what I read falls in here. There are so many books I really love, so it was difficult to pick just one.

Secrets of the DemonSecrets of the Demon by Diana Rowland

I love Kara Gillian, she’s my favorite UF heroine right now. A no-nonsense cop and demon summoner, she’s got just the right mix of sassy and smart. There’s a lot of action, and some pretty steamy demon lovin’ going on too. What more could you ask for? Definitely start with Mark of the Demon, the first book.

Honorable mention in this category goes to:

These Hellish HappeningsThese Hellish Happenings by Jennifer Rainey

The only reason this didn’t win the category is there’s a bit too much humor for what I consider UF. Still, I love the book and recommend it highly. Jack is my favorite vampire of the year, hands down.

Paranormal Romance

Midnight RisingMidnight Rising by Lara Adrian

I love the entire Midnight Breed series, and to be honest I picked this one pretty much at random, although I do love this story because it features the redemption of Rio, who is one of my favorites. Definitely start at the beginning with Kiss of Midnight if you’re just getting started, because there’s an over-arching plot to the series.

Science Fiction

The Many Colored LandThe Many Colored Land by Julian May

Now, I suppose this pick is a little unfair, because I haven’t actually finished it. I’ve been listening to it on audio book and should get to the end over the holiday. However, I’m so impressed by what I’ve read so far, and I’ve read so few pure SciFi this year, that this one gets the nod even though I’m not done. One of the most robust and vivid SciFi worlds I’ve ever encountered.


Butterfly TattooButterfly Tattoo by Deidre Knight

This is not only my favorite book in this category, but I think my favorite of the year overall. If you’re into Contemporary Romance, and even if you aren’t, you should give this one a shot. It’s a beautiful story, with deep, wonderful characters that will make you cry, guaranteed.


The RighteousThe Righteous by Michael Wallace

Great characterization and lots of intrigue make this a really interesting, exciting read. Though the book features religion prominently, it’s not trying to sway you one way or the other on the merits or detriments of a polygamist society. Eliza might be my favorite female character I’ve read this year. In fact, writing this little paragraph reminded me that I never bought the next two and I had to go get them right away!


The Breaker's ConcubineThe Breaker’s Concubine by Ann Mayburn

A strange and interesting SciFi backdrop makes this more than your usual erotic story. Don’t worry, there’s tons of hot action but there’s also a good story. I’ve picked up two more by Ann Mayburn and can’t wait to read them!

Looking forward to reading most in 2012:

Sins of the Demon by Diana Rowland

Soulless by Gail Carriger

Dragon Bound by Thea Harrison

Hounded by Kevin Hearne


Would love to read if only the publishers would get a clue and lower their prices

This is the official raspberry category. These are eBooks I would love to read, but their ridiculous prices mean I will not. These two losers are priced higher than their corresponding paperbacks. Yes, you read that right, higher than the paperbacks. Ridiculous, and I won’t abide it. You hear me Penguin and Random House? Yeah, I know they don’t, but it’s my blog and I can say what I want.

River Marked by Patricia Briggs

Fevre Dream by George R. R. Martin


That’s all there is my fine friends. I hope you’ve found something in my list that’s new to you and looks interesting. Feel free to share some of your favorites in the comments, I love to find new books to read!


Facebook Twitter Stumbleupon Digg Reddit Email

Happy Birthday to Me!

As a present to all of you I’m giving away the last two Broods paperbacks I have from my latest shipment. Use the Rafflecopter below to enter!

Facebook Twitter Stumbleupon Digg Reddit Email

Around the Web

Another list of where I’ll be out and about on the web. Links will be updated as posts go up.

Today I have a post about how horror plays a part in my fiction at Alan Ryker’s blog.

Tuesday December 13th I have an interview on Independent Paranormal.

Wednesday December 14th I guest blog about Norse mythology dragons over at Everything’s Better with Dragons.

December 18th I’ll be taking part in the Christmas Book Bash at Bookin’ It Reviews.

Other Broods News

My giveaway for 5 paperback copies at Goodreads is still open.

A second 5 star review for Broods has been posted. “Werewolves, love and action who could ask for anything more.” – Tona at Goodreads

Facebook Twitter Stumbleupon Digg Reddit Email

Review of Last Night at the Lobster

Last Night at the LobsterLast Night at the Lobster by Stewart O’Nan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Boy, this is really a book I’d give half stars to if I could. I did enjoy the story, though I never thought I would. Manny is an artfully drawn, compelling character.

The mundane details of a day in his life at a Red Lobster don’t drag the way you’d think because it’s all seen through the lens of his final nostalgic day. There’s an unrequited love, and a battle with a snow blower. What more can you ask for?

I’m kicking in the other half star, just because I have a little crush on Manny and the story was seasonal, but I’d rate it 3.5.

View all my reviews

Facebook Twitter Stumbleupon Digg Reddit Email

The Black God’s War Giveaway

Hi! A quick post to give you FREE STUFF!

Moses Siregar III has offered to give away 5 eBook copies of his book, The Black God’s War at various blogs around the net. All you have to do to win a copy is be one of the first five to post a comment here. Make sure you use a valid email in the comment box because that’s the address I’m going to send him. Books will be via Amazon gifting for Kindle or via email for .epub. In your comment, please state which format you’d like so I can give him that information.

Blurb follows:

Against the backdrop of epic warfare and the powers of ten mysterious gods, Lucia struggles to understand The Black One.

Her father-king wants war.

Her messianic brother wants peace.

The black god wants his due.

She suffers all the consequences.

King Vieri is losing his war against the lands of Pawelon. Feeling abandoned by his god, he forces his son Caio, the kingdom’s holy savior, to lead his army. Victory ought to come soon.

To counter Caio’s powers, Pawelon’s prince enters the conflict. Rao is a gifted sage, a master of spiritual laws. He joins the rajah to defend their citadel against the invaders. But Rao’s ideals soon clash with his army’s general.

The Black One tortures Lucia nightly with visions promising another ten years of bloodshed. She can no longer tell the difference between the waking world and her nightmares. Lucia knows the black god too well. He entered her bed and dreams when she was ten.

The Black One watches, waiting to see Lucia confront an impossible decision over the fates of two men–and two lands.

Facebook Twitter Stumbleupon Digg Reddit Email
Page 20 of 551510151920212225303555